Walking John O’ Groats to Land’s End in Winter 2014

The first question that came about was LEJOG or JOGLE? Starting at Land’s End or finishing in Land’s End? For me it was a no-brainer.

I live in Fort William (not born and bred) and so it makes sense for me to start at John O’ Groats and poetically finish… at the ‘End’.

Most who do LEJOG seem to want to build up fitness before facing the rugged terrain of the Highlands, but that’s just a good training ground for me. Fitness in the hills is never going to be the problem, it’s the 3o days of 30 plus miles a day that will be the challenge amongst others.

The issue I’m already having is the route, especially a route designed to maximise speed, mileage, and safety. Not even the mighty Google is coming up trumps for me on this occasion. I will keep plotting and planning regardless.

Let me just clarify that this is walking from John O’ Groats to Land’s End in 30 days, not cycling.

Why Winter 2014 – isn’t that going to be a bit, well – shit?

I work in the tourist industry in the summer and the Winter is the only time of year when I can take extended leave and get out there to explore. I wouldn’t say I’m used to Winter weather. I certainly don’t enjoy it, but it is bearable and with the right clothing/equipment – enjoyable to an extent.

Why Solo and why unsupported?

The two kind of go hand in hand, if you’re travelling with someone then you can kind of support each other. I would have liked to trekked with my brother but he is off to Australia a few weeks before I begin, I’m sure I’ll wish I was there every morning before the next day’s hike! We did Everest base camp last Winter and his company will be sorely missed. Yet, nothing like being in your own world for something like this.

As of 16th August 2014, what do you have planned?

A rough idea of a route and a list of what I need to take – trust me, there’s lots to do. I thought I was good at planning an itinerary but this is is something else! Yet, I know I will begin on the 15th November 2014 and it is in my head so whatever happens between now and then – I will be doing this!

What in the world does Yolo mean?

You Only Live Once!

August 2014 – 3 months before the start date

Leave a comment